The Magical Islands of Chiloé, South of Chile

The Province of Chiloé is a province of Chile formed by almost the whole of the Chiloé Archipelago. Which is composed of the Big Island of Chiloé and a series of smaller ones

The Province of Chiloé is a province of Chile formed by almost the whole of the Chiloé Archipelago. Which is Comprising of the Big Island of Chiloé and a series of smaller ones (more than 40). However, It is located in the Region of Los Lagos and its capital is the city of Castro.

There are many places in Chiloé that captivate any visitor, an archipelago locates in the south of Chile, where mosaics of corners are hidden that enchant by their rooted traditions and impressive natural wonders and patrimonial architectures.


A visit to the Ancud Town:

first urban settlement of importance in Chiloé after access by the Port of Chacao. A commune that has as its town the city of Ancud. Corresponding to the second most important city of the archipelago after Castro.

Within the city of Ancud, there is a visit to the Museum of Churches.  A starting point to understand the history and architecture of the 16 Chilotas churches declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Moreover, Other must-sees within the city are Fort San Antonio, the Regional Museum, the Municipal Fair, the Cathedral and the San Francisco Church.

A few km from the city of Ancud. There are a number of places of interest that are worth visiting for their natural and cultural heritage. Including the islets of Puñihuil Natural Monument, home to Magellan and Humboldt penguins; the town of Caulin famous for its oyster culture. Moreover, The Agui Fort, considered as one of the last bastions of the Spanish Crown in Latin America. And a small Caleta of Quetalmahue, site of artisanal fishermen and seaweed collectors where you can enjoy a typical Chilote lunch.

A visit to the Chonchi Town:

a commune where some of the most beautiful tourist sites of Chiloé are rivers, lakes, dense forests and picturesque village. Among which are 2 of the churches declared World Heritage by UNESCO. The San Carlos Church of Borromeo in the town of Chonchi and the San Antonio Church in Vilupulli.

Moreover, Its main locality corresponds to Chonchi. A magical fishing village known as the “City of three floors”. Known for its natural terraces and mansions of the end of XIX century, along with the Centenario and Irarrázaval Streets.

In the vicinity of Chonchi, dazzles the beauty of the route to the National Park Chiloé. Passing through lakes, beaches and  the localities of Huillinco and Cucao. Both known for their traditional chilotes cemeteries. Already in the Chiloé National Park, you can see the green landscape of the dense Valdivian jungle. One of the areas with the greatest biodiversity on the planet.

Castro Town:

Possibly the most tourist commune of Chiloé, being for its luxurious location in the center of the Grande Island, the starting point for excursions to the south and north of the archipelago. Moreover, In the commune, there are 4 of the wooden churches declared World Heritage by UNESCO, corresponding to The Church of Our Lady of Grace in Nercón, the Church of Santa María in Rilán, the Church dedicated to our Lady of the Rosary in Shilling and the San Francisco Church in Castro.

No Fields Found.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>