Isla de Pascuas, the Land of The Moáis

Isla de Pascuas (Easter Island) is an island of Chile located in Polynesia, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Isla de Pascuas is the largest of the insular islands of Chile and is concentrated in Hanga Roa, capital and unique village existing on the island.

Isla de Pascuas is one of the main touristic destinations of the country due to its natural beauty and its mysterious ancestral culture of Rapa Nui ethnicity, whose most notable vestige corresponds to huge statues known as Moai. To preserve these characteristics, the government administers through the National Park Rapa Nui, while UNESCO declared this park as a World Heritage Site in 1995.


Isla de Pascuas

Easter Island is a magical territory where you can visit archaeological sites, idyllic beaches, hidden caves and extraordinary diving points that are among the best in Chile.

Tour the Moáis quarry in Rano Raraku: one of the unforgettable activities to do on the island is the visit to this real open-air museum of Mois, a volcano known as the quarry of manufacturing these giant sculptures, retaining on its slopes more than 400 of them in different stages of construction, sizes, and positions. Another attraction is to house the largest Moai of the island, with approximately 21 meters in length.

Visit the quarry of the headdresses in Puna Pau: Puna Pau corresponds to the quarry where the Pukao or headdresses of red stone would have been manufactured that crowned the heads of the Moises. Five of them located inside the quarry and another 18 scattered on the slopes.

Ahu Tahai: archaeological site, where three ancient altars with different Moores are located: Kote Riku to the north, Tahai to the center and Vai Uri to the south. This place presents the attractiveness of the excellent state of preservation of the sculptures given by the restoration that took place in the decade of the 70’, where among other actions were added on the Moi Kote Riku, white coral eyes, restoring the image original that these sculptures would have had.

Ahu Akivi: corresponds to a sanctuary with seven Moises, which unlike the others on the island have the peculiarity of looking towards the sea. This series of statutes, it is presumed, would represent the first seven explorers that stepped on the island like the mandate of the first King Hotu Matua.

Ahu Tongariki: the visit to the Ahu Tongariki is a practically obligated stop to make in Easter Island, corresponding to the largest ceremonial center built, with a platform of a hundred meters long where they are located 15 Moores of diverse times and forms. This place is appreciable today, thanks to a great work of restoration and reconstruction, after the tsunami of 1960, spread its parts throughout the area.

Discover the gardens of the Cave of Ana The Pora: known as the Bananas cave, it corresponds to another one of the caves present in the skirts of the volcano Maunga Terevaka. This cave is characterized by 4 large chambers connected to each other, where you can find vestiges of ancient rituals, including a huge block of stone illuminated by a small opening in the sky. Another of its peculiarities is the leafy vegetation of bananas in its accesses.

Discover the Moai submerged in The Reef of Las Ancoras: among the activities that are not to be missed in the island, there is also the possibility of diving, in this area, the reef of Las Ancoras is one of the points of immersion that generates greater curiosity for the presence of a submerged Moai (only replica of an original sculpture), an impressive spectacle that is complemented by environments of coral and endemic fish. In the place, the sightings reach 23 meters deep.

No Fields Found.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>